NOTICE: My posting schedule has slowed down lately. Be sure to subscribe to the blog via RSS or via email so you won’t miss new posts when I do publish!

Ortega Taco Seasoning

I just received an email from B&G Foods, Inc. regarding the gluten-free and dairy-free status of Ortega Taco Seasoning:

Dear Ms. Kelly,

Yes, Ortega Taco Seasoning is gluten/dairy and casein free.

Margaret (Marge) M. Broncaccio
B&G Foods, Inc,
Corporate Consumer Affairs & Relations
margareb@bgfoods.com

Incoming search terms:

  • gluten free taco seasoning (3842)
  • is ortega taco seasoning gluten free (894)
  • ortega taco seasoning gluten free (875)
  • taco seasoning gluten free (539)
  • is taco seasoning gluten free (529)
  • is ortega seasoning gluten free (171)
  • ortega gluten free (116)
  • is ortega taco seasoning mix gluten free (103)
  • what taco seasoning is gluten free (96)
  • ortega taco sauce gluten free (91)

Comments

  1. iLiveinmyLab says:

    Woo! This is exciting! Someone asked me about this the other day…

  2. Pat says:

    Thanks, this is good news since I love tacos!

  3. cool and no soy either, but it does have hidden MSG in the autolyzed yeast extract which is a problem for some people.

  4. Julie says:

    I just sent Ortega an email asking the same thing. My 3 year old girl was just diagnosed with Celiac. I was leary of the caramel color. Not sure if I will use the seasoning or not, LOL!

  5. jill says:

    taco seasoning as well as the fajita seasoning has modified corn starch and i just learned that that is gluten. is this true?

  6. maggie says:

    if modified food starch is from USA, then it is gluten free; from other countries, not guaranteed gluten free.

    • bruce says:

      This is true. Have eaten both and was glutened by filipino banana ketchup cause of modified food starch but any US product I have eaten has not got me.

  7. Virginia Gallagher says:

    I just bought Ortega taco seasoning mix today and they are now labeling the caramel coloring as containing wheat and dairy. I guess they have changed their gluten free status? Very concerning.

    • vb says:

      so, is it gluten/casein/dairy free or not? !! the maltodextrin and caramel color have me wondering

      • Hi VB,

        When I published this post in March of 2010, the Ortega representative stated that the taco seasoning was gluten and dairy/casein-free. I would certainly recommend following up with them to verify that the ingredients haven't changed (I no longer use Ortega so I haven't kept up with its' gluten free status).

        Heidi

      • Joyce Pitrone Hawkins says:

        As to the Carmel Color…

        1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.

        3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the
        dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are
        listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.
        Hopefully Ortega can put a definitive answer on whether their Carmel Coloring is gluten free or not.

  8. Marlene says:

    What are you using in the place of Ortega?

  9. Amy says:

    The taco seasoning is still listed under B&Gs webpage under Faq/ gluten free. 9-11-2011

Speak Your Mind

*