Do you remember Green Goddess Salad Dressing? I sure do, I used to love that bottled green stuff from Seven Seas when I was a kid. My mom used to make a delicious taco salad with it and I even used it to top my baked potato in lieu of sour cream. And it’s a great dipper for raw veggies!
Somewhere along the line, the dressing began to disappear from grocery store shelves and over time, I simply forgot about it. Then a few months ago, when I began recreating all of my favorite salad dressings to be free of: dairy, egg, corn, soy, refined sugar, artificial colors, preservatives, and gluten cross-contamination, my mom’s Green Goddess taco salad came flooding back in my memory as I tried to figure out a way to enjoy Mexican inspired foods again without the use of corn and dairy (talk about feeling like a displaced New Mexican!).
Before I could make the taco salad though, I needed Green Goddess dressing.
According to Wikipedia, Green goddess is a salad dressing, typically containing mayonnaise, sour cream, chervil, chives, anchovy, tarragon, lemon juice, and pepper and is named for it’s green tint.
I found the following ingredient list for Kraft’s Green Goddess Dressing on Amazon:
Soybean Oil, Water, Vinegar, Sugar, Dried Sour Cream (Cream, Cultured Skim Milk, Culture), Salt, Contains less than 2% of Garlic, Xanthan Gum, Natural Flavor, Onion Juice, Spice, Polysorbate 60, Sorbic Acid and Calcium Disodium Edta As Preservatives, Mustard Flour, Yellow 5, Blue 1
The more I look at the ingredient list, the more nauseous I become. Where are the herbs? And the anchovies? I feel like my entire pre-celiac and food allergic gastronomic life was nothing more than a synthetic illusion!
Certainly Green Goddess dressing wasn’t invented by a food manufacturer (can you tell I grew up on processed foods?), so I did a little digging and came across this website that shares the history of Green Goddess as well as a simple recipe that was perfect for tweaking to be allergen-friendly.
If you have a fish allergy or are a vegetarian (and thus cannot use anchovies), I found a thread on Chowhound offering several ideas for vegetarian substitutes. The suggestion to use capers sounds like a great alternative to me.
Another very important note: Heinz Tarragon Vinegar is NOT GLUTEN-FREE! It contains malt vinegar which is made from barley and is not distilled. Luckily, it is very easy to make your own tarragon vinegar and I found a great recipe here.
This dressing also makes a lovely variation to the standard mayo and mustard based potato salad. I’ve also been adding a dollop or two in the “eventually instant mashed potatoes” that I like to keep on hand for a quick and easy weeknight side dish. And of course, the corn-free, dairy-free Green Goddess Taco Salad, which I will share in a future post.
Have you ever had Green Goddess dressing before? If so, I’d love to know if you any special recipes or memories of it!
Incoming search terms:
- paleo green goddess dressing (27)
- is green goddess dressing gluten free (24)
- are anchovies gluten free (24)
- dairy free green goddess dressing (23)
- allergy free salad dressing (22)
- is kraft green goddess dressing gluten free (19)
- is kraft green goddess gluten free (12)
- kraft green goddess dressing gluten free (11)
- Sald Dressings gluten dairy and egg free (10)
- homemade green goddess salad dressing (8)