NOTICE: My posting schedule has slowed down lately. Be sure to subscribe to the blog via RSS or via email so you won’t miss new posts when I do publish!

Lawry’s Seasoned Salt

I am making the rounds contacting mainstream companies regarding the gluten-free status of common foods, spices, etc. and I just got an email regarding the gluten-free status of Lawry’s Seasoned Salt.

Dear Ms. Kelly:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.  We appreciate your interest in our Lawry’s Seasoned Salt and welcome the opportunity to be of assistance to you.

Lawry’s Seasoned Salt is gluten free.

We recognize that gluten is the common name for proteins in specific cereal grains that are harmful to persons with Celiac Disease.  These proteins are found in all forms of wheat (including durum, semolina, spelt, kamut, einkorn, and faro), and related grains, rye, barley, and triticale.  When gluten or wheat is present as an ingredient, Lawry’s will declare it in the ingredient statement.

Lawry’s uses “Plain English” allergen labeling to communicate our product ingredients to our consumers.  Gluten is listed as “wheat” in our ingredient statements.  This labeling policy adheres to the FDA regulations that were implemented as of January 1, 2006.

Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens.  We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information.

If we can be of further assistance, please call us at 1-800-952-9797, Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time.  If you wish to respond to this note by e-mail, please include your name and e-mail address.

We hope to have the continued pleasure of serving you.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Stone
Consumer Affairs Specialist

Ref # 1293224

I personally do not use Lawry’s anymore, because I only really used it when I made Dill Dip for raw veggies.  It would take years for me to go through a container of Lawry’s Seasoned Salt so I have been making my own using this recipe I found on Recipezaar.

Incoming search terms:

  • lawry\s seasoned salt gluten free (336)
  • is lawrys seasoned salt gluten free (321)
  • lawrys seasoned salt gluten free (307)
  • is lawry\s seasoned salt gluten free (291)
  • is seasoned salt gluten free (156)
  • is lawrys seasoning gluten free (149)
  • is lawry\s seasoning gluten free (144)
  • is lawry\s salt gluten free (131)
  • gluten free seasoning salt (115)
  • Gluten free seasoned salt (112)

Comments

  1. Stephanie says:

    THANK YOU!!! I wish the letter I got about Kix cereal was this clear!!

    Still trying to figure out if Kix are Gluten free as I cant figure out which ingredient has gluten in it.

    • Kate says:

      In response to your question about Kix (cereal), the ingredients are Gluten Free, but it is made on the same Machinery as cereals Containing Gluten. So therefore General Mills will not label it as gluten free. This is what I was told when I called their customer service. General Mills makes the Chex cereals (most of them) gluten free, so I have written General Mills asking why Kix is not made on the Chex machinery. I encourage all Celiacs to write General Mills to encourage them to do this so they may offer yet another gluten free choice.

      Mom of a 6yr.old with CD

      • Stephanie says:

        Thank you so much! And good idea to ask that they make Kix on the machinery they make Chex on. My daughter eats the chexs, but she gets tired of them.

  2. Angie Haasch says:

    Thank you for sharing this info. regarding Lawry's Seasoned Salt. It is nice to be able to get an answer quickly. However, could you please list the year of your posts, so we can be sure we are getting the latest information.

    Thanks!

    • Angie,

      Great idea, thank you for bringing that very important issue to my attention! I will definitely have my web designer make that change for me, but until then…if you look in the URL bar of any given page on my website, it will tell you the year I published the post (not that you would have know that!). :-D

      Hugs,
      Heidi

  3. Susan says:

    Thank you for posting! I use Lawry's to season different cuts of beef, so I'm really happy to see this up-to-date letter on your website.

    Thanks again and happy cooking!

  4. David Shakespeare says:

    Thanks for writing/posting on this. It’s a pain to contact every company of every product you enjoy! I am bothered, th
    ough, that the label says “natural flavor” and if you are a serious celiac you know that that is shady ground. Obviously the Lawry’s rep isn’t very familiar or she would have addressed that and it’s origin. I guess I won’t use Lawry’s until I can find out for sure.

  5. Cbhill24 says:

    Usually anything that says “natural flavored” is NOT gluten free. I am not 100% confident this product is actually gluten free w/o knowing what those natural flavorings are.

  6. michelle says:

    Any idea what I can use besides cornstarch in the home made seasoning salt? My son is allergic to corn as well as wheat.

Trackbacks

  1. […] tsp. Seasoned Salt (Lawry’s is gluten-free, or you can make your […]

Speak Your Mind

*