NOTICE: My posting schedule has slowed down lately. Be sure to subscribe to the blog via RSS or via email so you won’t miss new posts when I do publish!

Halloween Note

Just in case you are reading this and are new to the gluten-free diet, I thought I would point out a Halloween treat that is not gluten free but by appearance, you might think that it is. Barley and Rye are not one of the 8 top allergens and are therefore not required to be mentioned on food labels. Malt flavoring is usually derived from barley (sometimes it can be from corn), and Rice Krispies contain barley malt flavoring.

The little treat I found in Sam’s pumpkin does not have an ingredient label and only states on the package that it contains milk and soy. If I were brand new to this diet, I could see myself thinking that it should be okay. It is a “Rice” Krispies Treat after all, and it does not say that it contains wheat, barley, rye or oats. Rice Krispies and Rice Krispie Treats ARE NOT gluten free.

Rice Krispie1

Rice Krispie2

I really hate being sick…but my fever finally broke this evening and I am now vertical so I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. :-) Sam and Luke keep “taking” my temperature and bringing me Smarties candy as medication to make me feel better. It is amazing how it really seems to work, at least in the spirit department. I love being a mom. ;-)

Speak Your Mind

*